Stocks - European Markets Mostly Lower With Eyes on Central Banks

European markets were mostly lower on Tuesday, as investors remained cautious ahead of upcoming monetary policy meetings scheduled this week in the U.S., the euro zone and the UK. The EURO STOXX 50 fell 0.23%, France’s CAC 40 declined 0.42%, while Germany’s DAX 30 was down 0.13% by 03:40 a.m. ET (07:40 GMT). On Wednesday the Fed was widely expected to raise interest rates by 0.25% at the conclusion of its policy meeting. The European Central Bank and the Bank of England were both set to release their policy statements on Thursday. Financial stocks were broadly lower, as French lenders Societe Generale (PA:SOGN) andBNP Paribas (PA:BNPP) declined 0.63% and 0.51%, while Germany's Deutsche Bank(DE:DBKGn) and Commerbank fell 0.28...

Forex - Dollar Dips Ahead of Fed, Kiwi at 1-Month Highs

The dollar dipped against a basket of the other major currencies on Tuesday as investors awaited this week’s Federal Reserve meeting, while the New Zealand dollar hit one-month highs after the appointment of a new central bank head. The U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback’s strength against a trade-weighted basket of six major currencies, edged down 0.11% to 93.84 by 03:30 AM ET (08:30 AM GMT), pulling away from Friday’s two-week high of 94.08. The Fed is widely expected to raise interest rates at its two-day policy meeting that will end on Wednesday and is currently seen tightening two to three times next year, but concerns over tepid inflation could alter the outlook for 2018. The Bank of England and the European Central Bank will also meet this week...